BrakeFluidReplacementCost
.com / US fluid pricing
2026 / Full-Service ChainNo published pricePublishes its 200 PPM test threshold

Firestone Brake Fluid Exchange Cost in 2026

Firestone publishes no price for its Brake Fluid Exchange, and its own quote tool will not give you one: to get pricing for this service, please call your store. What Firestone does publish, and no other national chain does, is the test it uses to decide whether you need the service at all. A strip dipped in the fluid reads the copper content in parts per million, and over 200 PPM is the threshold at which Firestone says corrosion is accelerating. That number is worth more to you than an invented price, because it is the thing you can ask them to show you.

How much is a Firestone brake fluid exchange?

Firestone does not publish it, and we are not going to print a guess at it. Its quote page says the service may not be the same price at every store and directs you to call. For a hard reference point, franchise dealers do publish: across 22 dealer prices we read and linked, a brake fluid exchange runs $99 to $249.95, median $169.95. Dealers are the costly end, so that is the figure a Firestone quote should come in under.

Published price
None
call the store
Their test threshold
200 PPM
copper, on a strip
Dealer median
$169.95
22 published
Retest after
Yes
shown on the strip
Firestone pricing

What is published, and what we use instead

What Firestone Complete Auto Care charges

Firestone Complete Auto Care does not publish a price for its Brake Fluid Exchange.

No price appears on the service page, and the quote tool declines to show one: to get pricing for this service, please call your store. Firestone adds that this service may not be the same price at every store.

We are not going to print an estimate of it. A guess at a company's undisclosed price reads to you as a fact about that company, and it is not one. What we can give you instead is the nearest hard number in the US market: franchise dealers do publish, and across 22 dealer prices we read and linked, a brake fluid exchange runs $99 to $249.95 with a median of $169.95. Dealers are the expensive end by reputation, so treat $169.95 as the figure a chain quote should beat, and get the quote before you authorise the work.

Checked on Firestone Complete Auto Care's own site, 4 October 2026: firestonecompleteautocare.com/repair/brakes/brake-fluid/

What the service includes

A brake fluid exchange, not simply a brake fluid replacement, if any service is needed. This assures that the highest percentage of old fluid as possible is removed and replaced with new fresh fluid. The exchange is performed per the equipment manufacturer's recommended procedures, and Firestone retests afterwards and shows you the result on the test strip.

Offers live on 4 Oct 2026
  • Free brake inspection, including a brake fluid test
    Measures front and rear pad or shoe wear, measures rotor or drum wear, performs a brake fluid test, and provides manufacturer's specifications.
    expires 2026-10-31
Not fluid offers: Up to $100 off a standard brake service.

Firestone's brake offers page is worth reading before you book, but read it for what it actually says. The headline brake discount of up to $100 off is pads and shoes, charged per axle, explicitly excluding rotors and drums. It is not a fluid discount, and no fluid discount existed when we checked on 4 October 2026.

The offer that does reach your fluid is the free brake inspection, which Firestone describes as measuring front and rear pad or shoe wear, measuring rotor or drum wear, performing a brake fluid test, and providing manufacturer's specifications. That is the copper test, free, with no obligation to buy the exchange afterwards. If you want to know whether your fluid is genuinely due before spending anything, this is the cheapest way in the market to find out.

Where a fluid exchange does carry a warranty, it is because it rode along with a brake job: the standard brake service package Firestone describes includes new pads or shoes, resurfaced rotors or drums as applicable, a lifetime parts warranty on pads or shoes, a 24-month or 24,000-mile labor limited warranty, and a brake fluid exchange. Firestone attaches no price to that package either.

Firestone vs Jiffy Lube vs Midas

What each of the three actually publishes

FactorFirestoneJiffy LubeMidas
Published priceNone; call the storeNone; needs your email firstNone; store-level offers only
Name for the serviceBrake Fluid ExchangeBrake Fluid ExchangeBrake fluid exchange
Describes the work?Yes, in detailYes, brieflyNo
Publishes a test threshold?Yes, copper over 200 PPMNoNo
Retests after the job?Yes, and shows the stripNot statedNot stated
Fluid-eligible offer live 4 OctFree inspection incl. fluid testNone$15 off fluid exchanges

None of the three publishes a price, so the honest way to compare them is by what they are willing to commit to in writing. On that measure Firestone is the most forthcoming of any national chain. It states that it performs a brake fluid exchange, not simply a brake fluid replacement, that the exchange follows the equipment manufacturer's recommended procedure, and that it retests afterwards and shows you the result on the strip. You can hold a store to that.

Jiffy Lube describes its work more briefly: a visual inspection of the brake system, replacement with fluid meeting or exceeding the manufacturer's specification, and proper disposal. Midas describes nothing at all, listing brake fluid exchange or flushing among its common brake services without saying what either involves. That matters because a flush and a reservoir exchange are different jobs, and a chain that will not define its service cannot be held to one.

Where Midas wins is the only fluid-eligible discount in the group: a store-level $15 off fluid exchange services whose eligible list includes brake. Where Firestone wins is the free inspection with a fluid test in it. The one caveat with Firestone is the upsell: full-service stores inspect the whole brake system and will flag pads, rotors and calipers during the visit. Go in knowing roughly what the car needs, and treat the fluid exchange as the service you came for rather than the start of a longer list.

What Firestone's brake fluid exchange actually is

Firestone Complete Auto Care is a full-service auto-care chain owned by Bridgestone. Its own description of the work is specific in a way that is unusual for this market: it performs a brake fluid exchange, not simply a brake fluid replacement, which it says assures the highest percentage of old fluid as possible is removed and replaced with new fresh fluid, performed per the equipment manufacturer's recommended procedures. Those are Firestone's words, and they are a commitment you can hold a store to.

The detail worth knowing is the test strip, because it is the one published number in the whole exercise. The strip is dipped in the fluid and left about sixty seconds, then the colour at the tip is read against a chart to give the copper content in parts per million. Copper is not itself harmful; it accumulates as the fluid's corrosion-inhibitor additives deplete, which makes it a proxy for how far gone the fluid is. Firestone's stated threshold is 200 PPM, above which it says corrosion is running at an accelerated rate and the ABS system's internal components can be affected.

That threshold is the practical reason to start here even if you buy the service elsewhere. The free brake inspection includes the fluid test, so the reading costs you nothing. A number under 200 PPM on a car that is not near its scheduled interval is a published, Firestone-sourced basis for declining the service, which is a stronger position than arguing about a price neither of you can look up.

When Firestone is the right call (and when it isn't)

Right call: you want the copper reading before you commit to anything, which the free inspection gives you; or your fluid is genuinely due and you want a chain that has put in writing what the service involves. Firestone is also sensible if you are already having pads or rotors done, since its standard brake service package includes a fluid exchange and a 24-month or 24,000-mile labor limited warranty, though it publishes no price for that package.

Wrong call: you are shopping purely on price. You cannot shop this market on published prices, because no chain has any, so the only way to compare is to ring two or three stores and ask for the figure on the same job. Get the copper reading first, then make the calls. If you have the tools and a helper, a DIY flush remains the cheapest route; if the car needs OEM-specific scan-tool work, that belongs at a dealer, which is also the only part of the market that posts real numbers. Compare against Jiffy Lube and Midas on what they will describe, not on prices nobody publishes.

Firestone brake fluid FAQ

How much does a brake fluid flush cost at Firestone in 2026?+
Firestone does not publish a price for its Brake Fluid Exchange, and its quote page declines to give one: to get pricing for this service, please call your store. Firestone adds that the service may not be the same price at every store. We are not going to substitute an estimate for that, because a guess at Firestone's price reads as a fact about Firestone and it is not one. For a hard reference point, franchise dealers do publish: across 22 dealer prices we read and linked, a brake fluid exchange runs $99 to $249.95 with a median of $169.95. Dealers are the expensive end of the market, so that median is the number a Firestone quote should come in under.
What does the Firestone Brake Fluid Exchange include?+
Firestone states that it performs a brake fluid exchange, not simply a brake fluid replacement, if any service is needed, and that this assures the highest percentage of old fluid as possible is removed and replaced with new fresh fluid. The exchange is performed per the equipment manufacturer's recommended procedures. Firestone also retests the fluid afterwards and shows you the result on the test strip. That is the fullest description of the work any national chain publishes, which is a reasonable thing to weigh when two chains both decline to quote a price.
What is the 200 PPM copper threshold Firestone uses?+
It is Firestone's published trigger for recommending the service. A test strip is dipped in the fluid, left about sixty seconds, then compared against a chart to read the copper content in parts per million. Copper rises as the fluid's corrosion-inhibitor additive package depletes, so it works as an indicator rather than being the problem itself. Firestone states that when copper content is over 200 PPM the depletion and corrosion are occurring at an accelerated rate, and that internal components of the ABS brake system can be affected above that level. Ask to see the strip and the chart, because that reading is the evidence for whether you need the job at all.
Does Firestone warranty the brake fluid service?+
Not on its own, as far as Firestone publishes. The warranty it does state attaches to the brake service package that contains a fluid exchange: new pads or shoes installed, rotors or drums resurfaced as applicable, components inspected, a lifetime parts warranty on pads or shoes, a 24-month or 24,000-mile labor limited warranty, and a brake fluid exchange. Firestone publishes no warranty terms for a standalone fluid exchange and no price for the package either, so ask what applies to your specific ticket before you authorize it.
Is Firestone more expensive than Jiffy Lube for brake fluid?+
Neither publishes a price, so nobody can honestly rank them on cost, and any site that does is guessing. What can be compared is what each commits to. Firestone describes an exchange rather than a replacement, follows the equipment manufacturer's procedure, and retests and shows you the strip. Jiffy Lube describes a visual inspection of the brake system, replacement with fluid meeting or exceeding your manufacturer's specification, and proper disposal of the old fluid. Firestone is the more specific of the two, and it is the only one that publishes the threshold it tests against.
How often should I change my brake fluid at Firestone?+
Follow your vehicle manufacturer's schedule, and use the copper reading as the check on it rather than a shop interval. Most manufacturers call for fresh brake fluid every 2 to 3 years regardless of mileage, because the fluid absorbs moisture over time. Firestone's free brake inspection includes a brake fluid test, so you can get the copper reading at no cost: if it reads well under 200 PPM and the car is not near its scheduled interval, you have a published basis for declining until the service is genuinely due.
Does Firestone give a coupon for brake fluid?+
No, not as of 4 October 2026. The brake offers live that day were up to $100 off a standard brake service, which is $100 off when you buy both a front and rear brake service or $50 off either one, per axle and excluding rotors and drums, valid 1 October to 31 December 2026; and a free brake inspection valid through 31 October 2026. The first is pad and shoe work, not a fluid service. The second is the genuinely useful one, because Firestone says the inspection performs a brake fluid test, so the copper reading costs nothing and you can decide afterwards.

Didn't find your answer?

Ask us. A real person reads every question and we answer the ones we can, with sources. If your question would help other readers, we may publish an anonymised version, with your permission. General reference, not mechanical or financial advice.

Updated 2026-04-28